Holiday Road, Day 2

We’re at the end of day 2, we made it as far as Jacksonville, FL.  Whether that is good or bad is yet to be determined, I for one was hoping to be much farther along.  Unfortunately, Mother Nature has a sense of humor and a snowstorm in the mid-atlantic states played havoc on our time table.  This means that I will likely need to take some vacation time that I didn’t really want to take.  It is what it is I suppose, but OH MY GOD was it cold.  I may be from NJ, but I don’t care how long you live up north, nobody is prepared for cold like we had this morning.  Word from home was that the temp was 0.

So here we are.  I have to say, my 21month old daughter is quite the trooper.  We were in the car for more than 12 hours today and she barely complained the whole day.  that is really something.  I couldn’t ask for much more than that.  We stopped finally at a hotel on the "fabled" Baymeadows Blvd in Jacksonville for the night.  Oddly enough, its kind of old stomping grounds for me.  I lived out by the beach a little more than 5 years ago.  Jacksonville is a great town.  Despite what any statistics might say to the contrary .

Work just isn’t letting up either.  Despite the short week, its just pouring in and I can barely keep up.  With any luck, we’ll stop somewhere tomorrow or make it to the keys and I’ll be able to spend the adequate time working that I need to.  I have a ton to do and won’t get caught up unless I spend some time somewhere other than "home" working.  I probably need to get out to Duval street once I hit the keys to get some work done.

 

So my wife thinks "South of the Border", SC is creepy.  Any votes out there?  She doesn’t understand why they would put the kind of "theme park" atmosphere out in the middle of nowhere (especially the sombrero with a view of nothing).  If anyone know what that’s all about, please let me know (mailto:scavali@hotmail.com).

 

Before I log off for the night, I did notice a couple of things on our trip down from the VA area that I had to mention.  If for no other reason than when you are behind the wheel for 12 hours, things just catch your attention occasionally.  First was the billboard in North Carolina that advertised the www.dumbassncdot.com website.  This was very interesting, where a business owner in the area has decided to take on a personal crusade against the NC secretary of transportation over an alleged vendetta against an adult entertainment establishment.  The second was a billboard in South Carolina (I think it was South Carolina) that advertised a gas station at an exit off of I-95.  That in itself isn’t noteworthy, however the fact that they had to point out that they sold beer on sundays was.  It was the only bilboard that advertised this.  I wonder how much of a differentiator that is.

 

anyway, tomorrow the Holiday Road continues.

About scavali

20 years of Information Technology experience, including 15 with Microsoft Services and Sales to some of the largest and smallest companies in the world, give me some unique perspective on the technology industry as a whole. Now I am the Unified Communications Practice Manager for Janalent, 2 time UC Worldwide Partner of the Year in 2009 and 2010. Combine that with my passion for photography, scuba diving, all things Key West and my time volunteering with the Madison, NJ Fire Department and you will find an eccletic combination of thoughts and experiences conveyed on this blog. Please contribute, I value people's productive feedback.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Holiday Road, Day 2

  1. Unknown says:

    I have always wanted to go to the Keys for Christmas, and now I will be ridin\’ you coattails there this year! YAHOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Write a lot about Duval Street and sunsets at Mallory Square.Also, I am more than a little bit interested in how you manage to work on vacation, and especially in the KEYS!\’\’Best of luck and I am linking you to my site right now!

Leave a Reply

