Holiday Road, Day 3

So today I’m going to have to provide updates for yesterday and today.  I’ll do 2 seaparate postings to ensure there is no confusion

 

Day 3 proves why you want to try and get this done in 2 days or less.  Its crazy to try and stay in the car with 3 other people for more than 2 days.  Nevertheless, we left Jacksonville, uneventfully, in the morning on our trek.

We needed to stop at the outlets in St. Augustine for some shopping.  My wife was interested in looking for Christmas presents and some clothes for her Mom.  Our 16-yr old companion was also looking to do some shopping for her boyfriend.  At this point, with a 21-month old daughter as well, I am hopelessly outnumbered so I had to stop.  It is what it is.

We did our shopping and the littlest member of our excursion was ready for a nap.  So off we went.  Our next stop was Orlando since my wife’s brother lives there and we need to pass through if we are takiing my wife’s cousin back home.  Since my brother-in-law was working we had to kill some time.  So that meant more shopping at the outlets in Orlando.  So eventually we made our way to my Brother-in-law’s place, dinner and off to our stop in south central FL for my wife’s cousin.  By the time we left there, it was 9pm and we were still about 6 hours from Key West.  I started to get tired around Midnight and we were still on 27 South heading towards Homestead.  I needed to get some sleep so we peeled off of 27 at alligator alley and called it a night at a great hotel in Miramar.

Today’s big news was that my wife discovered the beauty of XM radio.  I’ve had a Roady unit for about 8 months now and bought it specifically for trips like this so I don’t need to worry about radio stations.  While it was a good idea, she never got into it.  Well, today she figured out that she could listen to as much "E!True Hollywood Stories" as she liked.  So that meant value.

Wow, it takes so little to keep folks happy some times! 

 

TTFN, Day 4 update coming later today. 

About scavali

20 years of Information Technology experience, including 15 with Microsoft Services and Sales to some of the largest and smallest companies in the world, give me some unique perspective on the technology industry as a whole. Now I am the Unified Communications Practice Manager for Janalent, 2 time UC Worldwide Partner of the Year in 2009 and 2010. Combine that with my passion for photography, scuba diving, all things Key West and my time volunteering with the Madison, NJ Fire Department and you will find an eccletic combination of thoughts and experiences conveyed on this blog. Please contribute, I value people's productive feedback.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

