Holiday Road Day 4!!!

WE ARRIVED!!!!

After much effort (please see previous discussions), we arrived in Key West today.  We left Miramar, FL in the morning after deciding that my daughter didn’t need to see a doctor (story not appropriate for this forum) and drove the 3+ hours down the keys. I’ve driven from the Miami area to Key West before and I don’t recall it being nearly as SLOW as it was this time.  For some reason, the "sunday drivers" were out in force.  Nevertheless, we weren’t in a hurry, per se (I did need to get some work done which I still need to do), so we took our time and felt a grand sense of relief when we saw the Golfball (Dopplar radar dome) at NAS Key West in Boca Chica.  Naturally the weather was gorgeous when we left south Florida and crappy as we approached Key West.  We haven’t seen good weather in Key West while we were visiting in a long time and we didn’t disappoint this time either.  Forecasts for the weekend are calling for rain all weekend.  Nice.

So we left NJ without any of the digital cameras that we own.  Seems kind of silly to be in Key West without a camera.  We’re working on that so as the visit progresses, I’ll start getting pics up here. In the meantime, the day is pretty much over.  I’m planning for the numerous coconuts that I will have to open.  turns out, my daughter has a particular fondness for the water that comes from within coconuts.  I happen to like it as well, but she would prefer that to just about anything.  Last time we were here, I had to open upwards of 30 coconuts to provide more than 2 gallons of coconut water.  I have to plan on doing that again starting tomorrow night (I’ll post the instructions for opening coconuts in another thread). 

Tomorrow will be a day of bonding between a father and his 21-month old daughter.  My mother-in-law has appointments with a doctor in Miami, so my wife will be going with my in-laws.  My daughter and I will not be going with them for yet another 3 hour car trip up to Miami (and then the subsequent 3 hour return trip) so we’ll be spending some quality time here in Key West for the day.  That should be fun.  We can do a lot of bankbook damage downtown together for a day.  We’ll need to do something like the butterfly conservatory or something to keep us out of trouble  . 

Realistically, the weather can’t really cause too much trouble for us.  Just comparing the weather at home http://www.crh.noaa.gov/forecasts/NJZ008.php?warncounty=NJC057&city=Madison versus the weather here http://www.srh.noaa.gov/data/forecasts/FLZ078.php?warncounty=FLC087&city=Key+West  there really isn’t any comparison

About scavali

20 years of Information Technology experience, including 15 with Microsoft Services and Sales to some of the largest and smallest companies in the world, give me some unique perspective on the technology industry as a whole. Now I am the Unified Communications Practice Manager for Janalent, 2 time UC Worldwide Partner of the Year in 2009 and 2010. Combine that with my passion for photography, scuba diving, all things Key West and my time volunteering with the Madison, NJ Fire Department and you will find an eccletic combination of thoughts and experiences conveyed on this blog. Please contribute, I value people's productive feedback.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Holiday Road Day 4!!!

  1. Unknown says:

    So glad you made it!When I was a kid growing up in a housing project in Louisville. my mother would occacionally bring home a coconut. She liked the milk, too. I used a screwdriver to drive into the coconut with a hammer. Then we drained the milk.But if you just go to Mallory Square in Key West near sunset, there is a coconut booth near the north end that not only will split coconuts for free and give you milk, but also sells neat coconut palm baskets and such.Hope all goes well with the in-laws…..

Leave a Reply

