Holiday in Paradise, Day 2

So, after a great day of quality time with my precious little girl, we get ready for Christmas Eve in Key West. So I can allow my wife time to do stuff around the house I need to go out, do some grocery shopping and get my haircut.  Then I’ll take my mother-in-law and my daughter out to do some last-minute Christmas Shopping.

My first stop on the trip was to the Waterfront Market on Caroline St.  There are 2 points of interest regarding the Waterfront Market.  First is that it is home to a mural that was done by Wyland on the outside wall of the market.  The other has to do with the bread that they offer there.  It is UNBELIEVABLE.  It is one of the hottest things going on in key west.  It is called Cole’z Peace (http://www.colespeace.com).  I’ve tried 4 of them and I am here to tell you that it is fabulous.  All of it.

After running errands, etc, took my daughter and mother-in-law out to run some errands.  i would have thought that Key West would not be as crowded or susceptible to the last-minute shoppers that plague the more populated areas of the country.  I couldn’t have been any MORE wrong.  It was a ZOO, EVERYWHERE.  I didn’t know that so many people could cram on the island and my mother-in-law assures me that for the couple days after christmas, the population will triple.  I find it hard to believe because I couldn’t imagine it getting any worse.

We hit a couple of local places and then prepared to have company for Christmas Eve.  that includes my wife’s uncle and his wife, my brother-in-law, his wife and my nephew.  It was a nice time had by all.  The only "regret" I have for the evening was not knowing that the Packers were playing tonight.  It was a fabulous game.  That was pretty terrific.

We had a great time together, aside from my daughter napping until almost 7pm.  This means that Christmas Eve will last a long time tonight.  Oh well.

Other than that, not much to report.  I hope to get out to Mallory Square to enjoy the sunset.  Maybe Sunday, we’ll see.  I’d love to take my daughter out there.

Merry Christmas all, peace on Earth and goodwill to all men!

About scavali

20 years of Information Technology experience, including 15 with Microsoft Services and Sales to some of the largest and smallest companies in the world, give me some unique perspective on the technology industry as a whole. Now I am the Unified Communications Practice Manager for Janalent, 2 time UC Worldwide Partner of the Year in 2009 and 2010. Combine that with my passion for photography, scuba diving, all things Key West and my time volunteering with the Madison, NJ Fire Department and you will find an eccletic combination of thoughts and experiences conveyed on this blog. Please contribute, I value people's productive feedback.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

