Just bad luck

So, it looked like today just wasn’t going to be our day.  The remodelling on the house is going to come to an abrupt halt.  The CFO of the house was in the middle of an audit when she realized that we were out of money.  This is a blow to the project as we were close to completing phase 2 of the remodelling.  This leaves me in a position where I will be forced to attempt to complete the project myself.  Not something I was looking forward to doing.  Not sure its something I am even CAPABLE of doing.  Electric, low-voltage, sure no problem.  Even putting up drywall and spackling, ok.  But the framing piece and installing doors (pre-hung), not quite so sure of. 

and that was just for starters…..

Washing machine started making funny noises and the hot water lines are producing an abnormally high amount of calcium.  I would say that the 2 are related.  The washing machine is having problems because of the hard water.  I called the town to investigate and the bottom line is that our tankless heating system is killing us from the standpoint of the fact that a hot water heater allows the calcium to settle somewhere.  So it was suggested that we either add a water heater or a softener.  I was thinking about a softener anyway, but the problem is how to install it.  There is literally almost no room to get the softener in (assuming I could afford to get a softener now).  I don’t know what we can do about that at this point. We’ll have to see, I guess.  Finally, I will need to get the hot water coils replaced in my tankless system.  considering the problem I mention above, I don’t know if I’ll find a plumber who will do the work.  We’ll have to see.

These problems were in addition to the fact that all of our checkbooks had gone missing as well as my wife’s cell phone.  To add insult to injury, my provider called me to let me know that my account was past due and I owed them part of my house for the amount that we had spent on the cell phone.  No not literally.  Either way, it required investigation.

All in all, no good luck was to be found at least until tonight. 

My wife was determined to turn the luck around.  I’m glad she did.  It was good for morale in the house.  She put a great meal together and turned the house upside down and found everything that was missing.  I am so proud of her.  All we need now is to finish the construction.  That is going to be difficult, but we will get by I suppose.

Tomorrow I get to deal with the phone company tech.  this should be fun.  Every time it rains, we lose phone service at my house.  My cell phone bill is taking a serious hit for this and if they are not careful, verizon will find me suing for the difference.

About scavali

20 years of Information Technology experience, including 15 with Microsoft Services and Sales to some of the largest and smallest companies in the world, give me some unique perspective on the technology industry as a whole. Now I am the Unified Communications Practice Manager for Janalent, 2 time UC Worldwide Partner of the Year in 2009 and 2010. Combine that with my passion for photography, scuba diving, all things Key West and my time volunteering with the Madison, NJ Fire Department and you will find an eccletic combination of thoughts and experiences conveyed on this blog. Please contribute, I value people's productive feedback.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just bad luck

  1. Unknown says:

    It makes me want to go there.

  2. StevieD says:

    Hey I\’m sorry to hear you had sucha bad day. I hope tomorrow is a better day. It sounds like it can only get better from here. 🙂 You sound like you are due for some Good News.

Leave a Reply

