So what’s going on

So its been about 2 months or more since I’ve updated this.  Its lame, but certainly I can’t deny that there have been too many things going on to be able to take the time to put anything up here.  I’m just going to ignore the last couple of months and just go right to here and now and see what happens.

Easter Holiday

First, let me say to all of you who actually celebrate, happy belated easter.  I wish I could say the same for some neighbors in my town who suffered a serious fire in their home very early on Easter morning.  The aftermath can be seen here http://www.madisonfd.com/fires.htm.  For the record, it was my first real house fire since joining the deparment.  At 5AM we were called out and the house was really burning.  I was on the first team that tried to make entry through the front door.  It was way too hot and we weren’t going to make progress.  We wound up making our attack from the backyard first.  It was an unbelievable experience and I cannot tell you how bad I feel for the homeowners of that house.  That fire caused a lot of damage. 

Motocycle News

My motorcycle has been sold!!! If anyone knows me or my wife, this is seriousl news.  She could not wait for me to get rid of that motorcycle.  Just so everyone knows, I had a 1998 Kawasaki ZX-6 with 1574 miles on it.  I haven’t ridden it in years and I wish I could have, NJ is just too dangerous for a family guy to be riding a "crotch rocket" around.  It was time to go.  My roommates from my days of living in FL came up and bought the bike.  I just found the title in storage so I’m sending it down.

Pic included for show

Other Firefighting News

So, I went back to the academy.  In case someone reading doesn’t know, I am not a career firefighter.  I am a volunteer in the town of Madison, NJ.  I work in consulting services (for a large Seattle Area based software company that you all have heard of) for my job.  Going back to the acedemy means going to night school for a couple of weeks and a weekend.  I attended engine company training and it was very enlightening.  The reality that I am reminded of every time I go to the academy is that the residents of Madison are extremely lucky to have the members of the department that we have in our town.  We have very intelligent and talented members and they could not ask for a more competent crew.  Compared to other towns I have seen, we are VERY LUCKY.

 

Sio that’s it for now.  Please take a look at the pics on this site and consider looking at the info on the fire department up on http://www.madisonfd.com.  In the pictures section, if you go to the MISC section, you’ll see a silhouette of a firefighter in front of a bonfire, that’s me :).

About scavali

20 years of Information Technology experience, including 15 with Microsoft Services and Sales to some of the largest and smallest companies in the world, give me some unique perspective on the technology industry as a whole. Now I am the Unified Communications Practice Manager for Janalent, 2 time UC Worldwide Partner of the Year in 2009 and 2010. Combine that with my passion for photography, scuba diving, all things Key West and my time volunteering with the Madison, NJ Fire Department and you will find an eccletic combination of thoughts and experiences conveyed on this blog. Please contribute, I value people's productive feedback.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

