Rolling stone gathers no moss

So it seems that the excitement never ends in my house.  When I last kept in touch, my XBOX had a bad drive in it and I was beginning truck company operations over at Middlesex County Fire Academy.  Well, lets provide an update to all who care, shall we…..

XBOX Lives

I not only bought a new drive, but I bought one off of eBay.  I can’t begin to tell you how scary that was for me.  I really don’t particularly care of the whole eBay thing, but at the end of the day, it worked out pretty damn well (which reminds me, I need to provide feedback on the experience).  I have to give kudos to the llama’s website http://www.llamma.com/xbox/Repairs/repairs.htm which provides outstanding information on how to repair your XBOX (replacing the optical drive for example).  It seems that the new drive has done the trick and I was able to thoroughly enjoy Def Jam — Fight for NY in the manner that it was intended .  Very addictive game, by the way.  But now that I have fnished it, I’m moving on to Knights of the Old Republic (KotoR).  I’m so behind the gaming curve at this point.

Truck Co Operations

I finished truck company ops this past weekend.  Not a long class, but the last day was busy.  It certainly was fun as well.  I have the great opportunity to go to these classes with a good friend of mine who I have been attending classes with since Fire Fighter I.  We work together well and since we are on the same dept, it just makes sense.

Other Stuff

So what else is going on….. My daughter had her 2nd birthday party.  that was awesome.  2 investments made all the difference.  first was a $200 investment in an inflatable jumping house.  To rent one was $270, but Target had them for $200, no brainer and it has already been used twice.  Awesome.   The better investment though (when dealing with infant-4 year olds) was the $13 bubble machine that I picked up from Target.  That little device is worth its weight in gold.  Wow, battery powered bubble machine.  There isn’t much to it, in terms of engineering, but man is it a good idea.  So nevertheless, the birthday party was a roaring success. 

My mother-in-law was over visisting, which was terrific although that meant that my wife went to get her and I was alone with the 2yr old and the 17yr old.  I’m here to tell you, the 2yr old is easy.  The 17yr old is where the wheels come off the bus, but I won’t get into that now.

Now that the weather is nice, I hope to start taking pics again so I can put them up here.  Right now I don’t have much to post and nothing really all that funny.  Its been a sombering time the last couple weeks.  However, that kind of emotion doesn’t last long around here so I expect we’ll be back to comedy soon enough.

Ta-ta for now.

About scavali

20 years of Information Technology experience, including 15 with Microsoft Services and Sales to some of the largest and smallest companies in the world, give me some unique perspective on the technology industry as a whole. Now I am the Unified Communications Practice Manager for Janalent, 2 time UC Worldwide Partner of the Year in 2009 and 2010. Combine that with my passion for photography, scuba diving, all things Key West and my time volunteering with the Madison, NJ Fire Department and you will find an eccletic combination of thoughts and experiences conveyed on this blog. Please contribute, I value people's productive feedback.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

