Catch up the community.

So I’m long overdue in posting what has been going on.  What an unbelievable spring and summer it has been.  It has been full of good news and tragedy for my family.  So, I’m going to try to catch everyone up on what has been going on in one post and not make it a novel (as best I can).
 
 
My Wife’s Mom
I can’t find any record of my mentioning it.  My wife’s mom was diagnosed back in Nov-Dec ’04 with ALS (Lou Gehrig’s disease).  Unfortunately, a couple of weeks ago, she passed.  I have never seen such a terrible disease move so fast in my life.  It has again taken someone from this world way too early in their life.  My wife’s mom was very young to be taken from her so soon.  At this point, we’re just trying to ensure that her dad has everything he needs.  I hope he decides to come up to visit soon.  This is a time he should spend with some family and he doesn’t really have much family down in the keys right now.
 
 
My Wife
So, with the above information, you can imagine that my wife is going through a lot.  Well, in addition to the emotional stress of losing her mother, she is currently 13 weeks pregnant (if you are congratulating us, thank you).  In the previous pregnancy, my wife was very sick, she lost almost 20lbs in the first trimester, but she didn’t require hospitalization.  This time around, we have a new doctor and she was worse.  It required some hospital time and the installation of a pic line for intravenous medication as well as nutrition.  For the last couple of months, we have been swapping out the different medication, fluids, et. al. to ensure that she was as healthy as she could be.  While this meant she was getting the correct amount of vitamins, this complicated many things including the time I could reasonably spend at work.  Nevertheless, we have recently been told that the pic line will be coming out this week so her perseverence has paid off.  I’m very proud of her because she has been asked to endure a lot and she has done it with as much grace as could be asked of her.
 
Everything Else
My daughter has been quite the pistol.  She has started nursery school and she loves it.  It makes me very proud to see how well adjusted she appears to be.  She has her moments where she can be difficult, but you have to remember, she is 2.  Nevertheless, she is handling things well.  My wife’s younger cousin is no longer living with us.  She was able to comfortably return to her family in Florida and they are doing well.  She has been doing really well in school and has a job now.  We are tremendously proud of her and have told her such.  She’s a good kid and had good friends in NJ.  We still use one of them for babysitting.  As far as the fire department, well I haven’t been as on top of things as I might have been in the past.  Fact is, everything with my family has come first, which meant that the department moved to the bottom of the list.  I wish it were different, but that’s how it goes.  I’ve started going back to calls again and was able to participate in a couple of things recently.  I’m still a proud member and I’m happy to say that we are going to be celebrating out 125th year in service in May of 2006.  We are selling raffle tickets for a 50/50 as well as a custom Harley Davidson Motorcycle.  I don’t know that there is info on the motorcycle just yet, but as I said, we are a proud organization.  Check out the link below or http://www.madisonfd.com and learn more.
 
 
that’s kind of it in a nutshell.  Its a lot and there is a ton of detail that I’m leaving out.  We’re now finally getting back to a little normalcy, but the reality is that it has been a tough time. 
 
Weather here in the Northeast is really tough right now.  Flooding is rampant and I know that it comes on the heels of stuff all over the world, but I would ask anyone reading, if you can volunteer in your community to help, remember that some day it may be you that needs the assistance.
 
I’ll try to keep up with my posting now. 
 
If you are still a subscriber, thanks.  I appreciate it.  I’ll try to keep this up a little better now.  It would be great if we had a tool available to allow us to post, but no big deal 🙂
 
 
About scavali

20 years of Information Technology experience, including 15 with Microsoft Services and Sales to some of the largest and smallest companies in the world, give me some unique perspective on the technology industry as a whole. Now I am the Unified Communications Practice Manager for Janalent, 2 time UC Worldwide Partner of the Year in 2009 and 2010. Combine that with my passion for photography, scuba diving, all things Key West and my time volunteering with the Madison, NJ Fire Department and you will find an eccletic combination of thoughts and experiences conveyed on this blog. Please contribute, I value people's productive feedback.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

