A little comment on NJ politics

So, another election day has come and gone and another democrat has been elected governor.  Lets be honest, who’s surprised, quick show of hands?  Please.  NJ leans so far to the left it has a limp.  Nevertheless, that’s not what bothers me so much.  What bothers me is that over the course of the last year or so, we’ve had a very competent official serviing as the governor in Trenton.  He has done the kind of job that I believe both moderate republicans could have found acceptable without the kinds of ads or campaigning that just wrapped up.  In my opinion, Richard Codey has done a fine job for this state and that is saying something because I absolutely opposed the notion of him as governor after the resignation of Jim McGreevey.  I wanted a special election so that Republicans could benefit from the backlash of McGreevey’s corruption.  Nevertheless, Codey took over (per state consitutional requirements) and I think he has done a job that would have won him an extension of his time.  What is terrible is that a man who has done the kind of job that he has, found himself steppng aside because a Washington fat cat with deep pockets decided he wanted to buy the governor’s mansion in trenton.  The party decided that Corzine was a more attractive candidate than Codey, I couldn’t disagree more, but, I’m also not one of the left leaning dems of NJ either. 
 
What would I like to see, well actually since its my blog I don’t need you to ask :).  I would like to see a complete do-over in NJ state government.  that would mean a statewide election for ALL state government seats (Governor, Senate and Representitive) and if an candidate has had more than 2 terms in office, they would be ineligible to run.  I think that its time to change the way politics are run from career politicians who insist on managing Billions of dollars that they are truly not accountable for spending.  Lets be real, if you don’t like the way a politician is spending your money or they spend it illegally or in the "gray area" of whether its legal or not, what are you going to do, what is REALLY going to happen.  Assuming that the public actually finds out, they’ll be voted out of office next election or at worst impeached (yeah right).  So they go back to their Law practice or whatever and make thousands on the lecture circuit.  Nonsense.  What we’ve learned in recent years is that in the private sector, if an executive mishandles money, they go to JAIL.  THAT is accountability.  I think the notion of career politics has clouded what the real role of government is and as a result I think its time for a completely clean slate.  Wipe all of the politicians out and encourage REAL people (not only the millionaires) to run and serve their fellow citizens.  Make decisions that effect your neighbors with a conscience and use regular folks (small bus owners, office workers, construction workers) who have a job but have to serve their state now and then as a representitive of the government.  THE WAY IT USED TO BE.  Now, I’m sure I’ll get some comment like, government service is a full time job now.  If that’s true, tell me what Jon Corzine has been doing for us in Washington while he has been campaigning for governor.
 
I wish him the best of luck as governor.  I’m not moving from NJ anytime soon and I intend to hold him accountable for his decisions.
About scavali

20 years of Information Technology experience, including 15 with Microsoft Services and Sales to some of the largest and smallest companies in the world, give me some unique perspective on the technology industry as a whole. Now I am the Unified Communications Practice Manager for Janalent, 2 time UC Worldwide Partner of the Year in 2009 and 2010. Combine that with my passion for photography, scuba diving, all things Key West and my time volunteering with the Madison, NJ Fire Department and you will find an eccletic combination of thoughts and experiences conveyed on this blog. Please contribute, I value people's productive feedback.
This entry was posted in News and politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

