KUDOS to TechTrade LLC for the Pro-Tech 8 TITAN Model

 

Only too often you will only hear about a company when someone has something to complain about.  I am as guilty as anyone of that.  I only seem to write about NJ when I have a complaint.  Nevertheless, In this posting, I thought I would tip my firefighting helmet to the folks at TechTrade for the Pro-tech 8 structural firefighting gloves and their customer service in particular. 

The Pro-tech 8 gloves are remarkable because of the level of dexterity they provide right out of the bag brand new.  For those who aren’t familiar, structural firefighters have to wear a tremendous amount of turnout gear.  this includes a coat, pants, boots, hood, helmet and gloves.  All of this gear together is required to attempt to provide a safe protective barrier around the firefighter to prevent burns.  Any deviation from the standard around the manufacturing of the gear or the donning of the gear by the firefighter can result in injury or something more serious because of the nature of the job.  With that said, the gear is HEAVY and is very difficult to move around in. Since becoming a volunteer in 2002, I always found that gloves were always the biggest problem for me. Either:

  1. The gloves are so thick that it is nearly impossible to move my fingers in them and/or
  2. They have poor stitching in the areas that get the most use (such as between the thumb and forefinger) and usually result in a tear in the seam right at that point. 

I myself have gone through at least 3 pairs of gloves in the almost 6 years I’ve been doing this.  This past winter, my 3rd pair now ruined, I needed to invest in a pair of gloves for myself because the department was in an evaluation stage with a number of gloves and wouldn’t have a decision in time for me.  One of my colleagues turned me on to the Pro-Tech 8.

They are REMARKABLE.  What makes them so remarkable is that despite conforming to the necessary standards for structural firefighting, I can conceivably operate my Xbox controller with these gloves.  They are that flexible.  With many types of hide based gloves for firefighting, they are very stiff.  Not these and they have the appropriate barriers to protect my hands (which are EXTREMELY important to my livelihood) from heat, puncturing, and liquid.

Unfortunately, less than a month after I obtained the gloves, I was involved in a forcible entry with a door that had some plate glass in it.   I wound up damaging my gloves. However, I myself was not injured at all.  The gloves protected me as designed, but what to do.  I needed yet another set of gloves.  It was then I reached out to the Tech-Trade folks about what happened with my gloves. 

Andy Shapiro and the team not only responded in quick fashion to my requests, but sent me a pair of the NEW TITAN model gloves, as opposed to simply replacing my gloves with the same model that I had purchased back in January.  This is remarkable customer service and they were sensitive to the obstacles that I have to deal with both as a firefighter and a volunteer.

That kind of customer support is not something you come across every day, so I feel that I need to say something, whether I get the kind of traffic that I would like to or not.

Thank you Tech-Trade, for your customer service as well as the effort that you put forth to come up with a glove that is as functional as the Pro-tech8.

Best of luck in 2008.

 

Sam

About scavali

20 years of Information Technology experience, including 15 with Microsoft Services and Sales to some of the largest and smallest companies in the world, give me some unique perspective on the technology industry as a whole. Now I am the Unified Communications Practice Manager for Janalent, 2 time UC Worldwide Partner of the Year in 2009 and 2010. Combine that with my passion for photography, scuba diving, all things Key West and my time volunteering with the Madison, NJ Fire Department and you will find an eccletic combination of thoughts and experiences conveyed on this blog. Please contribute, I value people's productive feedback.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

