Return to Key West!!!

So after a hiatus of just WAY too much time, the family and I have been able to take the time to come back to Key West. It really is my favorite place to vacation (within reason) because the general mood here is just such a welcome change compared to the hustle and bustle of the New York Metropolitan area. I’m now on the plane back to NY and wish I wasn’t. I know everyone says that, but I really would just prefer to stay at this point and simply figure out how I would make my living, but alas, having responsibility for a family comes first. So Key West, we will be back, someday forever, but for now, its back to our home where (incidentally) it has snowed another 4 inches *YUCK*.

Hate to say “I told you so”…..

So, a little less than 3 years ago, I opined on the fact that “the Blond Giraffe” had sold out, or got greedy or whatever, but the bottom line was that the blond giraffe had made some significantly BAD decisions around their Key Lime pies. Ultimately, what I said was that the Blond Giraffe was now peddling “just another pie”. Well sometimes I hate to be proven correct, but we came to Key West to find that indeed, the Blond Giraffe was no more. All of their retail locations have closed and now the ones out on Duval Street and downtown have been taken over by the new reigning king of Key Lime in the Keys, Kermit’s Key West Lime Shoppe.

As I understand it, there is a “Throwdown with Bobby Flay” episode coming in March, I will be interested in seeing that. I haven’t had a chance to have any of Kermit’s pie as of yet so it is premature for me to comment. I do consider myself a bit of a Key Lime pie snob, so don’t think I will go easy on these pies. I am looking forward to making some pies with the limes from my father-in-law’s key lime tree the next time I am down and I’m willing to put my pie up against anyones J. As Jimmy Buffett said in Fruitcakes (regarding Pizza, but the concept still holds), “….the secret’s in the crust”.

 

The people of Key West are just AWESOME

The week was full of some terrific experiences. My family and I were up for Sunrise (more on that later) and during the week, my wife and I had the opportunity to do yoga on the beach twice. Let me tell you, it was amazing. A more relaxing atmosphere for yoga, I’m not sure can be found. Having said that, during the family trip to the beach, I lost my phone. I am currently a user of the Samsung Focus running Windows Phone 7. It’s an amazing phone, I love it as do my kids and losing it was horrible. If for nothing else, but because buying a new one would set me back more than $400. When I realized it was gone, though, I realized that the tools to retrieve it were all there for me. First thing I did was log into http://windowsphone.live.com. Since I had paired my phone with my live ID, I had the ability to do all kinds of things to the phone FOR FREE. I checked to see if I could GPS locate the phone. Unfortunately, the GPS hadn’t been updated in an hour, so it was safe to say the phone had been turned off. Next, I did the best thing I could, I used the LOCK feature to lock the homescreen of the phone, but at the same time, I went ahead and provided a message that included my email address. Well, I received an email later that afternoon from the folks that clean the beaches in Key West. They had my phone and provided me a contact name and number so I could retrieve my phone. As it turns out, they find phones on the beach ALL of the time, but rarely get to return them because despite the newspaper ads and craigslist ads, nobody ever claims the phone. In this case, having the email address on the screen made ALL of the difference. Nice story, huh.

 

Finally, shameless plug…..

So in closing, I wanted to shamelessly plug my photo site http://www.scavalierephotography.com. I have just posted pics from Key West up there and would love to get feedback on those as well.

About scavali

20 years of Information Technology experience, including 15 with Microsoft Services and Sales to some of the largest and smallest companies in the world, give me some unique perspective on the technology industry as a whole. Now I am the Unified Communications Practice Manager for Janalent, 2 time UC Worldwide Partner of the Year in 2009 and 2010. Combine that with my passion for photography, scuba diving, all things Key West and my time volunteering with the Madison, NJ Fire Department and you will find an eccletic combination of thoughts and experiences conveyed on this blog. Please contribute, I value people's productive feedback.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

